Telling the truth about Internet gun sales

I hear repeatedly that I can buy guns on the Internet without a background check. Like most things on the subject of guns being proffered by the proponents of further limitations on our second amendment rights, it is a complete fabrication.

If I own a gun and need it to be serviced, I can ship my gun to a licensed gunsmith or gun shop for service. Once the gun has been serviced or repaired, it can be shipped directly back to me. Note that this only applies to guns I already own and have shipped to a licensed gunsmith or gun shop.

The difference arises when I order a gun on-line. I can have them ship a gun I ordered without doing any background check at all. The federal law is that an Federal Firearms Licensed (FFL) dealer can only ship a gun being purchased to another FFL dealer. I must provide the shipper with a local FFL dealer to receive my purchase. That dealer will send the shipper a copy of his FFL document and he can then ship my firearm to the address of the local FFL dealer. Once local laws and regulations have been satisfied and a NICS background check is completed, I can take delivery of my purchased firearm. The dealer cannot deliver a gun to me that is illegal in the locality, thus I cannot ‘mail order’ a gun I couldn’t buy from a local dealers stock and I can’t order a gun without still going through the same background check or being constrained by local laws or regulations. If the locality I live in has a waiting period, I still have to comply with that as well.

Internet sales, like many other ways of buying guns that are not available locally is not a sinister act in any way. An internet dealer may have an unusual model I am interested in or that is not stocked locally for any of a number of reasons. I might find an antique or collectible gun in another state where I could not travel there to buy it, so I buy it and have it shipped to a local FFL for transfer. Local dealers don’t mind handling these kind of transfers because they can charge a reasonable fee for the service.

You do not make the predator, criminal or statist, any less dangerous by disarming the prey.

This entry was posted in Guns and Gun Control, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

